We had a dessert pot luck at work this past Friday.  It seemed like a good idea, IN THEORY!  I’m so glad someone brought some fruit.  Normally I’m all like “EW FRUIT!”, but when you have tables of sweets it’s nice to be able to offset that with a strawberry or two. I of course made cupcakes.

I came across this recipe for Coca-Cola cupcakes with Salted Peanut Butter Frosting on pinterest a couple weeks ago and felt inspired.  I’d never thought of a pop flavoured cupcake before and the thought of doing a cherry coke cupcake seemed like the perfect fit for an end of summer sweet snackfest so I sought out what looked like a decent cherry buttercream icing recipe and some adorable cupcake liners and was all set.

Image

Those liners are too adorable

I followed the instructions exactly for the cupcake base of the Coca-Cola cupcakes with the following exceptions:

  • After 5 minutes of baking I took them out of the oven to add a dollop of cherry pie filling to the top of each one.
  • I put them back in to bake for another 10 minutes (I find the cook time for cupcakes usually a lot longer than they need to be and you wind up with a super dry cupcake).  They came out perfectly moist and delicious!

Image

I followed the cherry buttercream icing recipe exactly except instead of adding milk I just added more maraschino cherry juice.

Image

“I normally hate cupcakes, but your’s always taste amazing” – Our Director of IT